Santa Monica-Venice Beach Christmas Run!

So it’s been 2 weeks and 3 days…but let’s talk about my double-PR at the Santa Monica-Venice Beach Christmas Run!

xmasrun

At the start of the 10K.

This run is a 10K and a 5K with the option to run both for only $5 more, making the total $45. Since we had 9-10 miles that day on the books for LA Marathon training (which is funny because we saw a TON of LA Roadrunners running separately from the event) Nick, Wendy, Nic, and I decided to go for it! I really love holiday races and dressing up all crazy. Plus, I got to wear my Sparkle Skirt for the first time (and maybe only time…since my Ariel-abs aren’t coming through like I had hoped).

xmasrun2

I learned a very valuable lesson…don’t try something new before a race. I know, I know, this is Running 101, but I read all the time about runners having coffee and it helping their performance. I was really dragging this morning so I decided to give it a go…with what I thought was plenty of time before gun time. Big mistake. I had HORRIBLE cramps in the 10K from basically mile 2-4. I’m thinking I could have finally gotten a sub 1:00 had it not been my stomach punching the rest of my internal organs in protest. Regardless, this was my first official timed 10K, so I’m counting it as a PR at 1:00:14.

The 5K was the same course as the 10K but cut short, obviously. It was sort of hard to wait around in sweaty clothes waiting for the gun, and also hard to muster up the motivation to run hard for another 3 miles, but we did it! I clocked in at 29:26, technically a PR, but still slightly disappointing because I know I’ve run faster on some training runs. Regardless, I’m walking away with pride since I had set a secret goal (PR twice in one day) and I did it…all while dressed like a sparkly elf!

photo(20)

Santa’s been working out.

Overall, it was a great day. I pushed myself to the limit (verge of puking without the actual puke) and I felt pretty badass passing athletic looking people in a glittery skirt.

About alifromatoz

I'm Ali, a (late) 20-something student with the humor of a 20-year-old frat boy living in beautiful Southern California. I like to run, practice yoga, play dodgeball, and try new things. I'm engaged in a constant battle with my inner sloth to live life to the fullest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

