SF for the NWM FTW!

After a whirlwind week that included re-taking the GRE (let us not speak of such things), I was on a plane again. This time it was to San Francisco for the Nike Women’s Marathon!

shakeout

But first, a quick 2 mile shake-out run with the pup on the Strand. I don’t know why she’s so camera shy!

After landing I took BART to Powell to meet up with Angelica and go to the expo. Something about public transportation lights a fire inside me. I feel independent and like I can take on the world. What, just me? Except busses. I’ve never been able to figure out busses…

Packet pick up was crazy-packed but went pretty quickly…aaaaaaand then we stood in line for 45 minutes just to get a picture at the photo-booth, which broke down 2 groups before us. I had an appointment to pick up the most gorgeous shoes in all the land (an early birthday present!) at the Niketown so we snapped a pic with Angelica’s phone and took off!

nwm1

The gorgeous Angelica and my super sweet Oiselle Runbow tee.

Niketown was an absolute zoo, but I was able to get upstairs to the shoe pickup and giterdun super quickly.

906

I’m not so sure he appreciated my bossiness. “I’m gonna flex my arm and you’re going to look really impressed!”

After the pic we high-tailed it out of there and headed to North Beach to meet my cousin for Thai food (can you tell already that Thai food is a trend with me?). Strangely enough this was the exact same Thai place that we ate at exactly a year before, when I was about to run the full marathon (I was scared sh*tless). Sadly, Steve’s twin was painted over…

stevetwin

From 2011. You stay classy.

Afterwards we headed to Walnut Creek and called it an early night.

The next day was quite uneventful as I spent 6 hours (SIX HOURS!!) at Starbucks studying for my biology class. I think one of the employees felt bad for me, as I got a free Chai Latte out of it. We did, however, carbo load:

carbload

The best pre-race dinner evar!

The sushi restaurant my cousin and Angelica took me to was the bomb diggity. HUGE rolls, and they even gave us one on the house! I want.

Afterwards my cousin dropped us off at Angelica’s friend Linda’s place in the city. Linda awesomely offered for us to crash, and in the morning her husband drove us (plus a bajillion other girls…seriously, when we got out it was like a clown car) in a huge van to the start.

Stay tuned for the next post on how dodgeball has improved my running (if you can dodge 20,000 women you can dodge a ball…)

About alifromatoz

I'm Ali, a (late) 20-something student with the humor of a 20-year-old frat boy living in beautiful Southern California. I like to run, practice yoga, play dodgeball, and try new things. I'm engaged in a constant battle with my inner sloth to live life to the fullest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SF for the NWM FTW!

  1. Debby Zamany says:

    You so funny!

Leave a Reply

